ACE Europe, a learning experience ...


ACE Europe wants to support learning processes in organizations. Whether becoming good at something, getting better at what they do or deciding to do things in a completely different way, organizations are invariably engaged in learning – often implicitly and informally.

There is a great deal of creative tension between wanting or having to do something and not knowing exactly how to go about it.  We want to work with this tension and develop and co-create new pathways of change.

We do so by our specific way of working and based on our knowledge of collective learning and capacity building processes.. We structure and systematize the learning process, proceed in a participatory and interactive manner, and support the learning and change processes.

Our enthusiasm for learning takes centre stage in everything we do, from training groups to assessing programmes or coaching organizations.

To that end, we work together with others, because cooperation enables us and our client to learn better and faster..  Furthermore, we want to share what we learn, integrate it in our approach and put it to practice.

Consultants

team member
Corina Dhaene

I was trained as a historian at the university of Leuven.  I have been a consultant at ACE Europe since 1996 and co-director since 2007. I work as an evaluator, trainer and coach of organizations and have more than 20 years of experience in these fields.

In the early years, I worked primarily on the European integration process and the impact thereof on local authorities. As such, I was involved in various European projects in Slovakia, Ukraine, Moldova and Bosnia-Herzegovina, in particular for internal evaluation, development of capacity building strategies for municipalities, civil society organizations and the production of manuals. I have experience in policy and programme evaluation in various fields: capacity building, local governance and local authorities, international municipal cooperation, access to basic services (water, healthcare, basic and vocational education), monitoring and evaluation,  development education and lobbying and advocacy.

The training courses that I give are often part and parce of the advice and coaching process for organizations, i.e. NGOs, but also local and central governmental authorities. I always develop customized training schemes (including syllabi and exercises). Training topics have included  strategies for capacity building, result-oriented project management, tools and methods for qualitative data collection and monitoring. I use my experience as an evaluator with these tools.

My training as a historian continues to be relevant down to the present day and is visible in questions that are fundamental in my work:  how have processes played out and could they have turned out differently? What has changed and for whom? How can this change be explained exactly? What can we learn from it? I combine a sense for critical analysis with enthusiasm and a low-threshold approach. I draw my energy primarily from supporting change processes in an organization, giving training courses, and the contact with people  who work for social change day in and day out.

team member
Geert Phlix

I studied adult education and social change at the Catholic University of Leuven [KUL] and embarked on my career as a scientific assistant at the same institution. My interest in cooperation for development grew during my studies.  I was driven by a feeling of injustice to endeavour for fairer North-South relations, in both a professional and a volunteer capacity, so as to give a voice to people who are excluded.  I joined a literacy campaign in Mexico,  worked as a volunteer for the NGO Coopibo (now Ricolto), performed a brief assignment at the VVOB [Flemish Association for Development Cooperation and Technical Assistance] and was head of development education at the NGO Fonds voor Ontwikkelingssamenwerking (FOS) [Development Cooperation Fund], where I was also responsible for gender policy. In 2000 I got the opportunity to start working for ACE Europe,  which I found fascinating, as it appealed to both the “thinker” and “doer” in me.  I have been the co-manager since 2007. I provide support to various stakeholders who are active in international cooperation: NGOs, social organizations and governments.  

In my work I focus on analysing social change processes with specific attention for capacity building, lobby and advocacy, multi-stakeholder processes, network development and active citizenship. I have gained experience in the following areas over the years:  improving access to basic services, including education, food, water and healthcare; the struggle for fair gender relations and climate justice; the struggle of workers and trade union activists. I have always used a mix of qualitative and quantitative methods and have specific experience in (quasi-experimental) impact assessments of programmes.

What fascinates me particularly in my work as a consultant is putting (scientific) research to practice, and more specifically turning evidence and lessons learned into more effective strategies. I always rely on the principles of appreciative inquiry and invite organizations to analyse their practices and gain greater insight in their work and the results thereof.  I draw a great deal of energy from working together and joint learning.

ACE Europe, a learning experience ...


ACE Europe veut soutenir l’apprentissage au sein des organisations. Acquérir une capacité, s’améliorer dans ses activités ou décider de changer radicalement de stratégie : les organisations sont en permanence en train d’apprendre,  souvent de façon implicite et informelle.

On remarque une grande tension créative entre la volonté ou le devoir à accomplir quelque chose et l’incapacité à savoir comment y parvenir. ACE Europe entend partir de cette tension pour faire bouger les choses.

Elle y parvient par sa méthodologie spécifique et sa connaissance des processus d’apprentissage collectif et des processus de renforcement de capacité. ACE Europe apporte structure et systématique au processus d’apprentissage, travaille de manière participative et interactive et soutient le processus d’apprentissage et de changement.

Notre enthousiasme pour l’apprentissage est au cœur de nos activités : formation de groupes, évaluation de programmes et coaching d’organisations.

À cette fin, ACE Europe collabore également avec d’autres organismes, car la coopération permet à l’entreprise et au client d’apprendre davantage et plus rapidement. Tout ce que nous apprenons, nous entendons aussi le partager, l’intégrer à notre approche et le mettre en pratique.

Consultants

team member
Corina Dhaene

J’ai suivi une formation en histoire (KULeuven) et suis consultante chez ACE Europe depuis 1996 et depuis 2007 également co-directeur. Je travaille en tant qu’évaluatrice, formatrice et coach auprès d’organisations et je dispose de plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans ces domaines.

Durant les premières années, j’ai principalement travaillé sur le processus d’intégration européenne et son impact sur les collectivités locales. Par exemple, j’ai participé à divers projets européens en Slovaquie, en Ukraine, en Moldavie et en Bosnie-Herzégovine, notamment dans les domaines de l’évaluation interne, de l’élaboration de stratégies de renforcement de capacité pour les communes et les organisations de la société civile et de la rédaction de manuels. J’ai une expérience en matière d’évaluation de politiques et de programmes dans plusieurs domaines : renforcement de capacité, gouvernance locale et administrations locales, coopération internationale entre les communes, accès aux services de base (eau, santé, éducation de base et formation professionnelle), suivi et évaluation, éducation au développement, lobbying et plaidoyer.

Les formations que je dispense sont souvent liées au coaching et à l’accompagnement d’organisations, aussi bien des ONG que des autorités locales et centrales. J’élabore toujours des formations sur mesure (y compris des programmes et des exercices), plus spécifiquement dans les stratégies de renforcement de capacité, la gestion de projet axée sur les résultats (GAR) et les approches orientées changement (AOC), les outils et méthodes qualitatives de collecte et de suivi des données. J'utilise mon expérience comme évaluateur avec ces méthodes. 

Ma formation d’historienne a un impact encore aujourd’hui et se manifeste dans les questions qui se trouvent au cœur de mon travail : comment les processus se déroulent-ils et comment les choses auraient-elles pu se dérouler différemment ? Qu’est-ce qui a changé et pour qui ? Qu’est-ce qui explique exactement ce changement ? Que pouvons-nous en tirer ?  Je combine une capacité d’analyse critique à une bonne dose d’enthousiasme et à une approche facilement accessible. Je tire principalement mon énergie du soutien aux processus de changement au sein d’une organisation, des formations et des contacts avec les personnes qui œuvrent quotidiennement au changement social.

team member
Geert Phlix

J’ai suivi une formation en sciences sociales (éducation des adultes et le changement social) à l’Université catholique de Louvain (KUL), puis j’y ai commencé ma carrière en tant que collaboratrice scientifique. C’est au cours de mes études que mon intérêt pour la coopération au développement s’est accru. Nourrissant un sentiment d’injustice, je me suis engagée, sur les plans tant professionnel que personnel, à promouvoir des relations plus justes entre les pays du Nord et du Sud afin d’offrir une voix aux exclus. J’ai commencé à travailler dans le domaine de l’alphabétisation au Mexique, en tant que bénévole pour l’ONG Coopibo (à présent appelée Ricolto), ai effectué une brève mission à la VVOB et suis ensuite devenue chef du service d’éducation au développement de l’ONG FOS, où j’étais également responsable de la politique de genre. En 2000, j’ai eu l’occasion de travailler pour ACE Europe, ce qui m’a fascinée, car cette perspective plaisait à la fois à la « penseuse » et à la « créatrice » qui habitent en moi. Depuis 2007, j’y suis également co-directeur. J’apporte un soutien aux différents acteurs de la coopération internationale : ONG, organisations sociales et pouvoirs publics.

Dans le cadre de mon travail, je me concentre sur l’analyse des processus de changement social et j’accorde une attention particulière aux processus de renforcement de capacité, au lobbying et au plaidoyer, aux processus multi-parties, au développement de réseaux et à la citoyenneté active. Au fil des ans, j’ai acquis de l’expérience dans les domaines suivants : l’amélioration de l’accès aux services de base, y compris l’accès à l’éducation, à la nourriture, à l’eau et à la santé ; la lutte pour des relations équitables entre les hommes et les femmes et la justice climatique ; la lutte des travailleurs et des militants syndicaux. Je recours toujours à un mélange de méthodes qualitatives et quantitatives et je dispose d’une expérience spécifique dans les évaluations (quasi expérimentales) de l’impact de programmes.

Ce qui me fascine particulièrement dans mon travail d’expert-conseil, c’est la mise en pratique de la recherche (scientifique), plus particulièrement la traduction des preuves et des leçons apprises en stratégies plus efficaces. Je pars toujours des principes de « l’enquête appréciative » et invite les organisations à analyser leurs pratiques pour mieux comprendre leur travail et les résultats qu’elles engendrent. Être « ensemble » sur la route et apprendre sont les deux domaines où je puise mon énergie.